Discussion Post: Why Do Less Boys Than Girls Read?

Hey guys!! Guess who’s finally doing a discussion post?? I hadn’t really planned on doing this but I saw this great post on why there are more female protagonists than male protagonists from Beth @ Reading Every Night and then a lovely discussion post on why there such little male book bloggers from Lu @ It’s Lu Again and that got me thinking- why do less boys than girls read? I researched a bit on that, and I saw all these scientific sites giving me stats on what percent of girls read more than boys etc, etc, but I didn’t think I any of those sited gave me valid reasons on the topic- boy’s make up like at least 50% – if not more, of the world’s population- why do such less boys read then? THAT DOESN’T ADD UP TO MY CALCULATIONS.

Image result for gif im doing the math wrong

I came up with some reasons for that:

  1. There are a LOT more female protagonists than male protagonists

This is a fact that no one can deny. I can whip out a list of amazing female protagonists who kick butt and I wouldn’t break a sweat. But if you told me to name many good male protagonists, I’d have to start thinking for a bit once I say Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. And the even bigger problem is that even when there ARE male protagonists, they need to share the limelight with a female one, and the females usually get a bit more attention. Because of this, guys don’t really connect or relate to a book, because if you don’t see yourself in a book, you don’t usually enjoy it. When they don’t have any great male characters to relate to, a role model to look up to or be inspired by, how can we expect them to love a book? Really, where ARE the male protagonists???

Image result for gif where are you

2. Male characters are SO sexualised

This is something I touched on in my review for Turtles All The Way Down, but I want to talk about it in some depth here. Let’s all admit it. We love it when the males in our books are described as hot AF boys with sharp jawlines, defined six packs, deep blue eyes, tousled black hair, snarky grins and dimples, and god knows what else. I won’t deny it, even I love it when my male characters are attractive. But what we don’t realise when we’re reading the book and lost in the image of our dream characters- this creates such unrealistic pressure on boys. NO ONE in real life looks this perfect (except the Dolan Twins but thats not the point) but by writing about ONLY these kind of males, boys feel really insecure, because not many of them look like that, and it makes them think the only way they’re gonna get a girl is by being inhumanly attractive. And it probably makes the more average looking boys think that they aren’t good enough in any way and makes them feel uncomfortable in their own skin. And so instead of reading about sexy and attractive guys who bring their self-esteem down, guys just don’t read at all. I don’t blame them- when none of the guys in books represent average looking guys, or guys who they see themselves in, what’s the point of picking the book up then?

Image result for gif personality matters the most

3. Reading is generally considered a more girly thing?

I don’t understand why this is still a thing. We live in the 21st century. It’s gonna be 2018 in a month for god’s sake. We aren’t friggin cavemen anymore. WHY IS READING STILL CONSIDERED GIRLY??? WHY ARE GUYS WHO READ CONSIDERED SHY/QUIET/GAY?? WHY IS BEING GAY AN INSULT??? WHAT IS WRONG WITH SHY AND QUIET??? WHY CAN’T A GUY WHO LIKES TO PARTY ALSO LIKE TO READ??? WHAT IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE?? I’m friends with lots of guys, both in Singapore and in India. And out of what might be the 50 guys I talk to, only 5-8 of them read on a regular basis, and most of them avoid books like the Shadowhunter chronicles, and other popular books, because those books are too “feminine” for them. THESE BOOKS HAVE VAMPIRES AND WEREWOLVES AND HAVE GUYS AND GIRLS WHO GO AROUND WITH SWORDS KILLING DEMONS AND PEOPLE THINK THESE BOOKS ARE FEMININE??? They’re not! THEY’RE FOR E.V.E.R.Y.O.N.E. IF YOU BOTHERED PICKING UP THE BOOK AND READING IT, MAYBE YOU’D UNDERSTAND THAT, YOU IGNORANT IDIOT. But I also can’t blame them, because society has literally forced them into thinking this y’know?

Image result for gif stop the stereotypes

So let’s discuss this in the comments!! Tell me if you agree with my thoughts, and if you have more things to add on to! Or maybe you don’t agree- tell me why! And btw, if anyone has any links to male book bloggers who read YA, please put them down below?? I’d love to chat with some boy bloggers!! Do you have any ideas on how we can get more guys into the reading? Comment it all down below and chat with me!

Thanks for reading!!

-Rhea

32 thoughts on “Discussion Post: Why Do Less Boys Than Girls Read?

Add yours

  1. I honestly love this post, Rhea.

    I think a good point that you touched on is most (main) male characters are described as ridiculously handsome. Whereas the female main characters can usually be described as plain or mousy and feeds into every girls self-image, so when the super hot male character thinks the female is hot it makes us think, ‘Hey, I could literally be that girl.’

    I wish I knew of more male bloggers. I’ll be scoping out your comment section for any links.

    Thanks for this! It was a super interesting read.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much!! Yes, that’s exactly what I think too! Girls even in popular books like The Infernal Devices (Tessa for example) are described as mousy and plain, but when super attractive guys like Will Herondale fall for her, we girls all see ourselves there, because we all think of ourselves as average, and it boosts our confidence that incredibly attractive men in books are attracted to the more average girls. But it never happens in books that guys are average, because they’re all just so sexualised.
      Hopefully we’ll find some male bloggers in the comments!
      So glad you liked my post!!!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I am a guy and I am not ashamed to be a reader and by your this post I feel so proud that there are few boys are reader and I am ine of them . Reading is the only thing I am alive for.Btw really nice post.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. This is a question I’ve wondered myself too! I think the female protagonists and male sexualisation definitely has something to do with it. I don’t really have an answer to it! Maybe a male blogger will leave a comment for you to explain 😉

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I once asked the boys in my class this and they said that they’d rather be doing something much more active than sitting around holding a book. It didn’t make sense at that time because I am active, I do sports and stuff but I also read. To each their own, I guess. But there are also some of my male friends who likes to read tho not as often as me.
    Interesting post btw. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Exactly! There’s nothing wrong with playing sports and being active, but at the same time also sitting and just reading. I only have a few male friends who like to read, but they read occasionally, not very often.

      Thank you!!

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Okay, I will throw my 2 cents in here. I am a guy, a reader and a writer. I mainly read for 2 reasons. 1. To learn stuff (non-fiction). 2. Because I write – and it helps me improve my craft. I am a visual person. I like art, graphic novels and I love movies. I like the visualization that they give me, but while that helps with my creativity, it doesn’t help with my writing skills – you can’t beat reading for that. Something of note for me is that it takes me days… even weeks to read a book, but I can watch a movie in a couple of hours. So there is a big time saving in that regard. As for female protagonists, I think that in more recent years they have become more prolific. In my opinion, this is because more girls read than guys. I tended to write with male protagonists, because I am a guy and I can relate better (and I don’t think I sexualise them), but I have been challenged by female authors who have said people want strong female characters these days. I am trying to strike a balance of male/female protagonists now. I believe there is an audience for both, it gives the reader more options, and I believe in gender equality and I’d like that to come through in my writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think it’s interesting that there are (particularly in YA) more female protagonists when that doesn’t seem to be the case at all in other media. Maybe there’s a direct correlation with underrepresentation in other media and the rise of the heroine in YA? Maybe that’s why authors keep feeding us female protagonists-to make up for the deficit and because there is a deficit, it sells? Also, I definitely agree with the sexualization of male characters. Yikes! Not that I’m complaining, but I could see how that could be difficult for some people to relate to. Great Post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a really interesting point!! It’s very true, the lack of representation of powerful females in other forms of media is probably what makes them so popular in YA- everyone wants to see a strong woman!
      At the same time, I feel there should be more books like Percy Jackson where there is a clear male protagonist- who though has his female protagonists as well, is clearly the focus of the book.
      And yes, male sexualisation in books is actually quite a lot now!
      Thanks, glad you liked this post!!😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. This post made my mind tick, so thanks for that!

    One would normally expect that the lack of male readers would be reflected in the number of male authors (or vice versa, for that matter) but that does not seem to be the case, rather they still can be considered to have a leverage in aspects of the writing sphere. I’m pondering upon this lack of correlation, any ideas to pitch in?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a good point! The fact that there are less male authors could result in less male protagonists, but I don’t think it should be that way. I feel that with enough research and character development, female authors can write about male protagonists just as well.

      Like

  8. I so agree with all of this! I feel like boys are too busy sticking their head in sports or video games to pay attention to the magic of books. And that the protagonist is usually a girl in a lot of books, and if it is a boy, then there is usually sexual content. Honestly, boys do read (I know a few) but it’s usually the female race that dominates the book poles! Go reading!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s true! Most guys I know much prefer sports/video games over books, but I don’t really get why, cuz reading is for everyone! The few guys who read seem to avoid YA/fantasy cuz its termed to girly and I dont get that?? Thanks!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. OMG RHEA YES. GUYS IN BOOKS ARE SO SEXUALISED. I don’t even like it. BECAUSE ITS SO UNREALISTIC. And take THE RAVEN CYCLE for example, NONE OF THEM ARE SEXUALISED LIKE OTHER BOOKS AND I LOVE THEM ALL MORE THAN ANY OTHER CHARACTERS. Like, its an issue that I have with SJM, its all about what they wear, their muscles, their eyes, ETC like no. we get it, they’re hot but we dont need reminding ALL THE TIME.AND THIS WILL TOTALLY PUT GUYS OFF??

    DFBRDYGBHDFBGYIDBGERBYGUYIFDBDFB THE STEREOTYPES CAN GO AND DIE IN A BIN AND FREEZE.

    Great discussion!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True!! It’s one of the only problems i have with SJM books, she makes them sound so unrealistic and like pieces of eye candy. AND THAT PUTS GUYS OFF HER BOOKS SO MUCH, EVEN THOUGH HER STORY/PLOT IS GREAT. I haven’t read the Raven Cycle yet, though I’ll be reading it soon!

      Thankssss!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome!!
        OMG I KNOW. Everyone is perfect, and JUST NOT RELATABLE. LIKE CAN WE HAVE SOMEONE REALISTIC PLS BC NOT EVERYONE IS A KICKASS WAR HERO OK?

        RHEA.
        RHEA.
        U KIDDING MOI.

        GO READ TRC NOW.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. I don’t know that I agree with this! It may be more true for YA genres and that age demographic, however, I think that changes once you enter adult fiction and especially adult nonfiction.
    I work in a public library and while few teen boys are found among the shelves, on the other side, I see quite a bit of men checking out and asking about books.
    Now I also noticed that men are more drawn to biographies/memoirs and non fiction reads as opposed to fiction, but they are still extremely present in our stacks.

    What I find interesting is the lack of male bloggers in the book world. Now this may be due to the fact that their bookish interests do not match the vast majority of other bookish bloggers, but it is still interesting nonetheless. I don’t think they don’t exist, but instead they may be blogging about other things, and not just their bookshelves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s interesting and true. My dad, though generally dislikes reading, doesn’t mind picking up the occasional auto biography and stuff. I think my post is more relevant towards the teen boys, since they usually avoid YA/fantasy, as it’s termed as too girly/trashy for them?? I’ve heard boys my age say YA is trashy, and I don’t get that, cuz it’s really not!!

      The lack of male book bloggers is actually really weird. I’ve seen male sports bloggers and stuff, but there are hardly any male BOOK bloggers I’ve come across, which concerns me slightly??

      Thanks for adding to the discussion!!

      Like

  11. Great post, and you made some brilliant points as well that I never thought of until I read them. 😀 Especially about boys being sexualised in YA stories; there always seems to be one type of hero for the YA protagonists and that’s gorgeous and chiseled and basically perfect and it does put an unreal kind of pressure on male readers. I mean, we as female readers, wouldn’t like it if all the characters we read were gorgeous and slim and perfect. It’s an insane standard for people to live up to.
    Again great post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! It’s not like we dont like reading about attractive males, but that definitely puts a lot of guys off books, plus it also makes them repetitive? Like all guys are NOT incredibly hot, so why only write about the 3% of them which are??
      Thank youu!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s the same thing with females in Hollywood I think. A lot of the time they’re cast as the really attractive, sex appeal characters and after a while it’s just not worth watching. Obviously guys feel the same when they read books with those types of main characters in.
        That’s all right! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  12. See I don’t think there it’s necessarily s wrong for male characters being sexualized in books, I mean books are my escape from reality and for a girl who doesn’t get much attention from boys I like that I can escape in a book where a ordinary girl gets the gorgeous guy. Now not to offend anyone I do see the issue here that there are less male protagonist than girls and there should be more approachable guy characters that are more realistic fro men to relate to. But if a guy can’t get into a book because of how the character is being portrayed in a sexual way then it’s his problem.

    Like

    1. I get what you’re saying, because being an ordinary girl myself, it is nice to see the average girl get attention from the attractive boys. But that’s exactly my point- if we like it when attractive guys notice us, even average guys would like it if gorgeous girls noticed THEM. I find it difficult to relate to a book when the main girl is GORGEOUS, because I don’t see myself in her and I find the book unrealistic. In exactly the same way, guys probably find all the books unrealistic, because majority of real life guys are average, so it’s not fair that they only read about hot guys when that doesn’t represent who they are. That’s definitely not his problem, it’s a problem for everyone to solve, cuz it’s simply unfair.

      Like

  13. One interesting thing that I’ve noticed is that–like you said–most YA protagonists are female, especially in series. However, I’ve also noticed that the opposite is true for JF: most of the protagonists are male. I’m a librarian, so I get to see lots of different people and their reading habits; you’re absolutely right that there’s a correlation. I see tons of middle school aged boys reading, and lots of teen girls, but there are only a handful of preteen girls or teen boys that come in regularly (though there are more of the former than the latter, likely because it is generally true that girls are more likely to read about boys than boys are to read about girls).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think it’s mainly becoming a YA thing that the protagonists usually end up being female- and though I love the characters, I really want more male protagonists in YA. And I feel there are lots of middle age books like Percy Jackson which lots of boys enjoy reading, so there should be more stuff like that too. Hoping to see more of reading stuff for boys soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

ReadWriteDayNight

Gemma's reading blog

Better Left Unsaid

Some things are just better left unsaid.

Taleoftwoblogs

We live and breathe words

Panic At The Book Store

Just a girl lost in the book world

Bookwormtopia

Ramblings of a teenage bookworm

Paper Fury

read. write. art.

Paper Blots

reading. writing. breathing fire.

Ink on White

A BOOK REVIEW BLOG

Daydreaming Roux

A girl with a creative mind

Songs Wrote My Story

Just a little corner in the book world where songs and stories come together...