Book Review- Lady Midnight

bye

Book- Lady Midnight (Book 1 from The Dark Artifices)

Author- Cassandra Clare

Publisher- Margaret K. McElderry

Date of publish- March 8, 2016

Short Summary from goodreads (in case you need any extra information before i start my review)

In a kingdom by the seaโ€ฆ
In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.
A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each otherโ€”but they can never fall in love.
Cruel, romantic, fast paced and heartbreaking, lady midnight was such a fantastic read. An intricately woven plot, a gripping storyline, brilliant characters, subtle humor and heartbreak, the book had everything you would want and expect from a Cassandra Clare book. Even though it was a bulky 600 page book, I raced through it without a pause, or more like, I couldn’t pause long enough to put it down. As this book is based in the shadowhunter world, I would recommend people who are not yet a part of this extraordinary world to first read The Mortal Instruments, as that will make everything happening in this book much easier to understand. However, this review is spoiler free, so you don’t need to avert your eyes and try to shut the page without looking at the screen- you can continue reading.

Based 5 years after the Dark War, a series of faerie and mundane murders in L.A forces Emma, Julian and the rest of the Blackthorns to investigate the murders, the most surprising fact being that all these murders are connected to the death of Emma’s parents who were brutally murdered 5 years ago. Bent on revenge, Emma is determined to destroy those murderers, even if it means breaking the Law. To make matters worse, a faerie convoy offers to return Mark, the oldest Blackthorn, who had been captured by the Wild Hunt years ago, forcing the Blackthorns and Emma to break the Cold Peace, for helping, or even communicating with faeries has been forbidden after their twisted betrayal during the Dark War. But after 5 years in faerie, will Mark ever truly be a shadowhunter again? And will he want to return to his family? And if all of this wasn’t bad enough, Emma and Julian realize they may have feelings for each other, ones which may break the forbidden law of parabatai love.

what i liked:
Emma was such a strong personality. A perfect blend of sass, fire, anger and loyalty, Emma was SO real and SO relatable. Even though she does make some stupid decisions, making you want to scream at her, you do understand her reasons to make that decision. Her love for the blackthorn family is so beautiful and touching. The way she protects them from all harm leaves me with this inexplicable happiness. The whipping scene however, will leave you with an all consuming murderous rage, that’s the scene which made me realize how much I love all the characters in this book. I wont say much about this scene or i’m going to end up flinging something breakable across the length of the room.

Julian is one of my favorite characters. Sensitive, gentle yet warrior like, he is the calm to Emma’s storm. The pains he goes to to protect his family wrenches my heart. There are so many scenes with his siblings that got me teary eyed. Though his protectiveness may seem a bit over sometimes, you cant help but sympathize with  him and feel the massive burden he is forced to carry alone for the past five years. The rest of the blackthorn family is also totally lovable and you can see the strong bonds tying the family together. Ty’s intelligence, Livvy’s protectiveness, Mark’s subtle faerie humor, Dru’s innocence,  Tavvy’s absolute adorableness and the resilience of the entire family as a whole is what makes them such a perfect, yet imperfect family.

The storyline of this book is extremely gripping and the plot well written. Every sentence has a significance, and in the end, when everything falls into place and all the big secrets are revealed, well, I definitely had my “oh shoot!’ moment. I didn’t see any of the plot twists coming, and believe me, there were a lot more than one. Everything comets together naturally and nothing seems unrealistic or forced. The dry humor and sarcasm at exactly the right times lightened things up and never failed to make me laugh. I love how none of the characters, not even the villains, are totally bad. No one is this book is black or white, everyone falls in the million shades of gray in between. I did feel sympathy and pity for the villains, even if what he or she did was unforgivable, and I understood the motive behind their actions.

Finally coming to the romance, (yay!) I must say, I was shattered to pieces. every Jemma scene sent shivers up my spine, and the last few pages, I don’t have the words to describe them, but they left me at the verge of a hysterical breakdown. Their friendship is beautiful, and their love for each other more so. I love that unlike other books, this wasn’t a story of love at first sight- it was built on years and years of friendship, making it all the more believable. Though Cassie seems to have an attraction to writing about forbidden love- as in this case, the beauty with which its written submerges you completely. The gut twisting emotions i felt was so much pain and joy at the same time.

What i didn’t like:

Though there isn’t much, I HATE how the characters hide so much from each other, even Julian and Emma, who are parabatai, which is like a much bigger deal than bffs. There were so many times when i felt like strangling a character and screaming, “THIS WOULD BE SO MUCH SIMPLER IF YOU JUST SAID IT!” They all love each other so much,  but they all hide so many secrets it makes me want to shriek. Along with this, Julian’s protectiveness gets slightly over sometimes, though its understandable why. other than this, there’s not much i can fault with this book. ๐Ÿ™‚

Rating:

I will give it a 4.5 rounded down to 4, just because of the whole “I shall hide everything from the people I love”. Other than that, i CANNOT wait to get my hands on the next book- The Lord of the Shadows.

10 thoughts on “Book Review- Lady Midnight

  1. The review is greattt. Even though you know I don’t completely agree with you the review makes me question my opinion

    Like

    1. I think maybe you should give the series another go? If you don’t like it, then you can still read this series but you might understand it easier if you read the mortal instruments first. Give it a go, and if you still dont like it, try this series out. It’s really amazing

      Like

  2. I feel like the lack of communication thing is far to commons and also drives me mad! Is the romance doomed or does it survive!? I have such a problem reading about a great romance that doesn’t give me my happily-ever-after ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well I don’t want to spoil anything but the romance doesn’t survive in this book, but it does in the next! And yes the lack of communication is always so annoying it makes me want to scream! But don’t not read the book bcuz of that, the rest of the story makes it really worth it!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

